Who will I be working with in the Natural Resouces Law Program?


Natural Resources Law Faculty & Staff

Justice Elizabeth A. McClanahan

Justice Elizabeth A. McClanahan serves as Academic Chair and ASL’s first Street Memorial Distinguished Visitor in Real Estate Law. She was the 1994 El Paso Fellow at the University of Colorado Natural Resources Law Center. She has served as Virginia’s chief deputy attorney general, as a judge on the Virginia Court of Appeals for eight years, and was elevated in 2011 to the Virginia Supreme Court.


Professor Patrick R. BakerProfessor Patrick R. Baker, Director, Natural Resources Law Center. Professor Baker teaches Oil & Gas Law, Water Law, and Coal and Hard Mineral Law. In addition to serving as Director of the Natural Resources Law Center, he is currently leading efforts to enhance and expand the natural resources law program and establish a legal clinic. Before joining ASL, Professor Baker practiced at one of Virginia’s leading mineral and energy firms, PennStuart & Eskridge. His scholarship focuses on natural resources and energy law issues.

Daniel H. Caldwell, EsqProgram Counsel Daniel H. Caldwell, Esq., joined ASL’s Natural Resources Law Program in January 2012, after 34 years of practice. His representation included mineral and energy clients on general corporate and transactional issues in both state and federal court. As counsel to the Program, he oversees the implementation and administration of the Program.


Professor Mark (Buzz) Belleville Professor Mark (Buzz) Belleville is Chair of the Curriculum Commitee and teaches Sustainable Energy law and is faculty advisor to the Natural Resources Law Journal, Environmental Law Society and Energy and Mineral Law Society. He is an active member in the Energy and Mineral Law Foundation and his academic scholarship focuses on renewable energy and climate change.


Professor Priscilla HarrisProfessor Priscilla Harris teaches Environmental Law and Torts. Before joining the faculty, she practiced in the areas of environmental law and land use. She chairs the faculty recruitment committee and her scholarship focuses on environmental issues, women’s rights and public health law.

Professor Derrick Howard Professor Derrick Howard teaches a Natural Resources Law Seminar and serves as director of the summer externship and summer clerkship program. Additionally, Professor Howard’s academic scholarship explores water law and environmental human rights.

Distinguished Visitors In Natural Resources Law

Judith Williams JagdmannJudge Judith Williams Jagdmann. Born November 3, 1958, in Norton, Virginia, Judge Jagdmann was educated at the University of Virginia where she graduated with distinction. She received her law degree from the T.C. Williams School of Law at the University of Richmond. Prior to being elected to the Commission, she was the 43rd Attorney General for the Commonwealth of Virginia, serving from 2005-2006. From 1998-2005, Jagdmann served as the Deputy Attorney General for the Civil Litigation Division. Before her work in the Office of Attorney General, she served for 13 years as counsel to the SCC and its staff on securities and utility matters. Her service as an SCC Commissioner began in 2006. She and her husband (Joe) are the parents of two children.

Will Reisinger Will Reisinger serves as an Assistant Attorney General in the Office of the Attorney General of Virginia. Mr. Reisinger represents the citizens of the Commonwealth in energy and utility matters before the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and the Supreme Court of Virginia. Prior to joining the Attorney General's Office, he served as a staff attorney for a non-profit environmental organization, where he worked to enforce state and federal environmental laws and renewable energy standards. Mr. Reisinger has published articles about various energy and utility matters, including federal climate legislation, state renewable energy portfolio standards, and the impact of Clean Air Act regulations on coal-fired power plants. He serves on the governing board of the Virginia State Bar's Administrative Law Section.