Natural Resources and Energy Law




The Appalachian School of Law is pleased to present the Governor’s First Biennial Natural Resources and Energy Law Symposium on Monday, September 23rd, 2013 at the Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center in Abingdon, VA. This symposium addresses “The Future of Energy” and brings all sides together for rational discussion about how to responsibly address some of the country’s most pressing energy challenges. Representatives from industry, the environmental community, government, and academia will engage in intelligent debate in an atmosphere of civil discourse on a range of important contemporary topics. Please join us for what promises to be a lively and informative program.

Topics: Speakers/Moderators:
Keynote Address
"The Future of Energy"
James W. McGlothlin
    Chairman and CEO,
    The United Company
    Bristol, Virginia
Panel Discussions:  
1. National Energy Policy The Honorable Judith Williams
    Jagdmann - Moderator

    SCC Commissioner
    Richmond, Virginia
  1. Benjamin Longstreth
    Senior Attorney
    Natural Resources Defense Council
    Washington, D.C.
  2. Frank Rambo
    Senior Attorney and Leader of
        SELC's Clean Energy and Air Program
    Southern Environmental Law Center
    Charlottesville, Virginia
  3. John C. (Max) Wilkinson
    Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
    Charleston, West Virginia
2. EPA Air Regulations and Their
    Impact Upon Fossil Fuel Based
    Power Plants and the Environment
Professor Patrick Baker - Moderator
     Associate Professor of Law
     Appalachian School of Law
     Grundy, Virginia
  1. Mary Anne Hitt
    Beyond Coal Campaign
    Sierra Club
  2. Christopher C. Horner
    Senior Fellow
    Competitive Enterprise Institute
    Washington, D.C.
  3. Charles Patton
    President and Chief Operating Officer
    Appalachian Power
  4. David K. Paylor
    Department of Environmental Quality
    Richmond, Virginia
3. Governor's Address and Legislative Update 1. Governor Robert F. McDonnell
    71st Governor
    Commonwealth of Virginia
2. Delegate Terry Kilgore
    Virginia House of Delegates
    R - 1st District
   Gate City, Virginia
3. Congressman Morgan Griffith
    U.S. House of Representatives
    9th Congressional District of Virginia
4. Senator Phillip P. Puckett
    Senate of Virginia
    38th Senatorial District
4. BP Deepwater Horizon Spill Jeffrey A. Breit - Moderator
    Breit, Drescher, Imprevento & Walker
    Virginia Beach, Virginia  
  1. Luther Strange
    Attorney General
    State of Alabama  
5. The Effect of Wall Street Reforms On
    Energy Markets
Athena Y. Eastwood - Moderator
    Special Counsel
    Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP
    Washington, D.C.
1. B. Salman Banaei
    Senior Counsel
    Norton Rose Fulbright
2. Russ Behnam
    U.S. Senate Agriculture Committee
        Staff - Senator Stabenow
    Washington, D.C.
3. David Holden
   Vice President–Enterprise Risk Management
   Dominion Resources Services, Inc
4. Jeremy D. Weinstein
    Law Offices of Jeremy D. Weinstein, Esq.
    Walnut Creek, California
6. New and Emerging Technologies: Legal
    Barriers and Legal Solutions
Professor Derrick Howard - Moderator
     Associate Professor of Law
     Appalachian School of Law
     Grundy, Virginia
  1. Professor Mark Belleville (Wind)
    Associate Professor of Law
    Appalachian School of Law
    Grundy, Virginia
  2. Jerry Grantham (Shale Gas)
    Vice President
    Range Resources Southern Appalachia Division
    Abingdon, VA
  3. Caleb A. Jaffe (Solar)
    Southern Environmental Law Center
    Virginia Office
  4. Professor Michael E. Karmis (Carbon
    Stonie Barker Professor & Director    
    Virginia Center for Coal & Energy
    Virginia Tech
    Blacksburg, Virginia
  5. Ed Rogers (CERDC)
    Clean Energy R&D Center
    Abingdon, Virginia


Click Here to Register
(Comments about our Website? Email us at