Natural Resources and Energy Law




The Appalachian School of Law is pleased to present the Governor's Second Biennial Natural Resources and Energy Law Symposium on Monday, September 21st, 2015 at the Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center in Abingdon, VA. Governor McAuliffe will present the Keynote Address. In an atmosphere of rational debate and civil discourse, representatives from industry, the environmental community, academia and government will discuss their views on topics affecting "Energy Independence in America - The Full Array of Energy Opportunities in Appalachia." The topics to be discussed are the planned interstate natural gas pipelines, hydraulic fracturing, Clean Air Act implications on the energy industry, and the role of renewables. We hope that the exercise of presenting, listening and debating by all sides will lead to the discovery of some common ground and the development of some shared goals. Please join us for what promises to be a lively and informative program.

Topics: Speakers/Moderators:
Panel Discussions:  
1. The Clean Air Act: Implications for the Energy
Patrick R. Baker - Moderator
    Dean of Students
    Davis & Elkins College
1. Charles R. Patton
    President and COO
    Appalachian Power
2. Robert M. "Mike" Duncan
    President and CEO
    American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity
3. Evan Feinman
    Executive Director
    Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission
4. Walton C. Shepherd
    Staff Attorney, Energy & Transportation Program
    Natural Resources Defense Council

2. Hydraulic Fracturing: America's Energy Independence and the Environment
Benny Wampler - Moderator
  1. Carl Michael Smith
    Executive Director
    Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission
  2. Michael Ward
    Executive Director
    Virginia Petroleum Council
  3. Dr. Robert W. Chase
    Professor and Chair Emeritus
    Department of Petroleum Engineering and Geology
    Marietta College
  4. Eric Gregory
    County Attorney
    King George County, Virginia
Keynote Address Governor Terry McAuliffe
   72nd Governor of Virginia
3. Natural Gas Pipelines Kurt L. Krieger - Moderator
    Steptoe & Johnson PLLC
1. Judy K. Dunscomb
    Senior Conservation Scientist
    The Nature Conservancy
2. Connie Brennan
     Board of Supervisors
     Nelson County, Virginia
3. Matthew Eggerding
    Counsel, Midstream
    EQT Corporation
4. Scot Hathaway
    Senior VP for Operations, Engineering and Construction
    Dominion Transmissions, Inc.
. 4. Greg Buppert
    Senior Attorney
    Southern Environmental Law Center
    Charlottesville, VA
4. Renewables: The Full Array of Energy
Opportunities in Appalachia
Caleb Jaffe - Moderator
    Director, Virginia Office
    Southern Environmental Law Center
1. Tyson Utt
     Director of Development, Mid-Atlantic
     Apex Clean Energy
2. B. Hayes Framme
     Advisor for Infrastructure and Development
     Secretary of Trade and Commerce
     Commonwealth of Virginia
3. Carol Wampler
    Project Manager
    Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia (CICV)
    Solar Market Pathways Collaboration
4. Thomas J. Tuffey
    Vice President
    Community Energy, Inc.


Click Here to Register

Symposium Home | Topics | Moderators & Speakers
Reception | CLE Information | Sponsorship Opportunities

(Comments about our Website? Email us at