News & Events


ABA Law Student Division honors ASL

ASL students at the American Bar Association Law Student Division's Fourth Circuit meeting in Williamsburg, Va., Feb. 25-26.


ASL was presented with the Bronze Key Award at the American Bar Association Law Student Division's Fourth Circuit meeting in Williamsburg, Va., Feb. 25-26.

The award honored ASL for its highest percentage increase in membership in the circuit. Membership has increased by more than 75 percent at ASL, which now boasts a total membership of more than 175 students.

"This definitely something for which ASL should be very proud," said Katie Murray '11, ASL's ABA representative. "We are in a circuit with some of the nation's top law schools."

ASL also achieved prominence this school year when Garylene Javier '12 was tapped to serve as governor of the Fourth Circuit.

ASL brought an 11-member student group to the meeting, making ASL's the largest constituency there. Students were able to gain insight into several topics, including non-traditional legal career options and law practice innovations. Panel discussions focused on how students can stand out in a tight legal job market.

The ABA Law Student Division's Mental Health Initiative was also a focus at the meeting. The initiative aims to help students recognize warning signs of mental health issues and deal with school-related stress. ASL's own efforts, such as its upcoming Mental Health Day and Pilates wellness program, were highlighted. "These are great outlets we have at our school to help students ‘de-stress' during one of the most stressful times of their education," said ASL Student Bar Association President Meghan Scott '11. "I only hope that we can continue to grow the Mental Health Initiative at ASL."

The Law Student Division comprises 15 circuits (separate from the federal judicial circuits) to better serve the needs of students on a regional and national level. The Fourth Circuit is made up of 17 law schools in North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia. Other member institutions include Duke University School of Law, University of North Carolina School of Law, University of South Carolina School of Law, University of Virginia School of Law, Wake Forest School of Law, Washington and Lee School of Law, West Virginia University College of Law, and William and Mary Law School.

Those who attended the conference are pictured above with the Bronze Key Award. Left to right: Chelsea Minton '13, Mary McNeil '11, Melissa Louthen '13, Katherine Kennedy '13, Maggie Ransone '11, ABA Representative Katie Murray '11, SBA President Meghan Scott '11, SBA Vice President Jason Gallagher '11, Nathaniel Ogle '13, Jonathan Moody '13, and Candice DuVernois '13.